If you to change the repeat schedule for a task in a way that reduces the number of repeat instances, only repeat instances that have a status of Not Started will be deleted.

All tasks within the old repeat schedule that have a status of On Hold, In Progress, Completed, or Canceled will remain visible in the All Tasks and the My Calendar views regardless of the new repeat schedule.